BASIN Database - Data Confidentiality

Data Confidentiality

A period of data confidentiality exists for most industry generated well and geophysical survey information. Information or documentation, which includes samples, data, records and reports submitted to the Boards (CNLOPB, CNSOPB) may be disclosed to any interested third party in accordance with relevant Acts after a period of confidentiality has expired. BASIN does not contain any privileged information. The period of data confidentiality is variable: for well data it depends on the classification of the well (exploratory, delineation or development) and the type of well data involved; for geophysical survey data it depends on the survey classification (exclusive or speculative). Periods of data confidentiality also vary between Provincial and Territorial jurisdictional areas.

Employees of NRCan (Natural Resources of Canada) - which includes the staff of the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC), Earth Science Sector (ESS) - who collect data and information for internal research purposes are usually given privileged access to, and use of, those data for a period of two years after their collection. At the end of the period of privileged access the data is usually made publicly available. In most cases these data are made available as soon as possible.

The following information is provided as a summary guide only, in all cases refer to the guidelines and Acts available through the appropriate regulatory agencies.

Well Data

The following table broadly outlines the confidentiality periods for various data and well classifications for offshore Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador wells. The period of confidentiality begin on the well termination date.

Data ClassificationWell ClassificationPeriod of Confidentiality
basic well, drilling & levels dataallno confidentiality period
sample, lithostratigraphic, log, test dataexploratory2 years
as abovedelineation90 days
as abovedevelopment60 days
biostratigraphic, geochemical, petrological dataall5 years

Geophysical Surveys

For offshore Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador geophysical surveys the period of confidentiality for speculative (non-exclusive) surveys is 10 years following the completion date of the survey, for exclusive surveys the data is held confidential for 5 years after the completion date. The completion date occurs 6 months after the field program has terminated.

Contacts and Detailed Information

For a complete description of confidentiality periods and availability of information associated with wells and geophysical surveys please contact the relevant regulatory board or government agency. These links are provided solely for the convenience of Natural Resources Canada Web site users. Natural Resources Canada is not responsible for the information found through these links.

Jurisdictional AreaRegulatory Board
Offshore Nova ScotiaCanada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board
Offshore Newfoundland and LabradorCanada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board
Gulf of St. Lawrence, Hudson Bay, north of 60 degreesNational Energy Board
Nova Scotia (onshore)Nova Scotia Department of Energy
New Brunswick (onshore)New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources
Prince Edward Island (onshore)Prince Edward Island Department of Finance, Energy and Municipal Affairs
Newfoundland (onshore)Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy
Quebec (onshore)Quebec Department of Natural Resources
Offshore GreenlandGeological Survey of Denmark and Greenland
Offshore eastern United StatesU.S. Department of the Interior: Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Back to previous page

Base de données BASIN - Confidentialité des données

Confidentialité des données

Il existe une période de confidentialité des données pour la majorité des renseignements sur les puits et les levés géophysiques produits par l'industrie. Les renseignements ou les documents, qui comprennent les échantillons, les données, les dossiers et les rapports soumis aux conseils d'administration (OCTHE, OCNHE), peuvent être révélés à un tiers intéressé conformément aux lois pertinentes après que la période de confidentialité a expiré. BASIN ne contient pas de renseignements confidentiels. La période de confidentialité des données est variable: pour ce qui est des données diagraphiques, tout dépend de la classification du puits (d'exploration, de délimitation ou d'exploitation) et des types de données diagraphiques disponibles. En ce qui concerne les données des levés géophysiques, tout dépend de la classification du levé (exclusif ou empirique). Les périodes de confidentialité des données varient également selon les zones de compétence provinciale et territoriale.

Les employés de RNCan (Ressources naturelles Canada) - ce qui comprend le personnel de la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC) et du Secteur des sciences de la Terre (SST) - qui recueillent des données et des renseignements aux fins de recherche interne ont souvent un accès privilégié à ces données, qu'ils peuvent utiliser pendant une période de deux ans après leur collecte. Au terme de la période d'accès privilégié, les données doivent être mises à la disposition du public. Dans la plupart des cas, ces données sont rendues publiques dès que possible.

Les renseignements suivants sont fournis à titre de guide sommaire seulement. Dans tous les cas, vous devez consulter les directives et les lois en vigueur auprès des organismes de réglementation compétents.

Puits

Le tableau suivant décrit dans les grandes lignes les périodes de confidentialité des diverses données et classifications des puits pour la zone extracôtière de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. La période de confidentialité débute lors de la date d'abandon du forage.

Classification des donnéesClassification du puitsPériode de confidentialité
puits de base, données sur le forage et les niveauxtoutespas de période de confidentialité
données d'échantillon, lithostratigraphiques, des diagraphies et d'essaiexploratoire2 ans
tel que mentionné ci-dessusde délimitation90 jours
tel que mentionné ci-dessusd'exploitation60 jours
données biostratigraphiques, géochimiques et pétrologiquestoutes5 ans

Levés géophysiques

En ce qui concerne les levés géophysiques des zones extracôtières de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la période de confidentialité pour les levés empiriques (non exclusifs) est de 10 ans après la date d'achèvement de ce levé; pour ce qui est des levés exclusifs, les données sont gardées confidentielles pendant 5 ans suivant la date d'achèvement. La date d'achèvement intervient 6 mois après la fin du programme sur le terrain.

Coordonnées et renseignements détaillés

Pour obtenir la description complète des périodes de confidentialité et de la disponibilité des renseignements associés aux puits et aux levés géophysiques, veuillez communiquer avec l'organisme de réglementation ou l'organisme gouvernemental approprié. Ces liens sont fourni uniquement pour la commodité des utilisateurs du site de Ressources naturelles Canada. Ressources naturelles Canada n'est pas responsable de son contenu.

Zone juridictionnelleOrganisme de réglementation
Zone extracôtière de la Nouvelle-ÉcosseOffice Canada-Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers (disponible en anglais seulement)
Zone extracôtière de Terre-Neuve-et-LabradorOffice Canada Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers (disponible en anglais seulement)
Golfe du Saint-Laurent, Baie d'Hudson et nord du 60e parallèleOffice national de l'énergie
Nouvelle-Écosse (zone côtière)Ministère de l'Énergie du Nouvelle-Écosse (disponible en anglais seulement)
Nouveau-Brunswick (zone côtière)Ministères des Ressources naturelles du Nouveau-Brunswick
Île-du-Prince-Édouard (zone côtière)Ministère de l'environnement, de l'énergie et des forêts de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (disponible en anglais seulement)
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (zone côtière)Ministère des Mines et de l'Énergie de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (disponible en anglais seulement)
Québec (zone côtière)Ministère des Ressources naturelles du Québec
Groenland (zone extracôtière)Service géologique du Danemark et du Groenland
Est des États-Unis (zone extracôtière)U.S. Department of the Interior: Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (disponible en anglais seulement)
Date de modification: